CompTIA Security+ is a globally recognized certification demonstrating an individual’s knowledge and skills in cybersecurity. It’s designed to ensure that professionals have the skills and knowledge to secure networks and devices and protect against cyber threats. Security+ certification is a key part of the industry.

The CompTIA Security+ exam is updated periodically to ensure that it reflects the current state of the field and the skills that are most relevant to cybersecurity professionals. As new technologies and practices emerge, the exam is updated to include these changes and ensure they remain relevant and useful.

The current version of the exam is the Security+ 601—the previous Security+ 501 has been out of commission since July 2021.

Reasons for Change

There are several reasons why CompTIA might update the exam. For example, the organization may want to add new content that reflects the latest developments in cybersecurity, or remove content that is no longer relevant.

Additionally, CompTIA may update the exam to align with industry standards and best practices or to reflect changes in the job market and the skills that are most in-demand by employers.


CompTIA does not have any specific prerequisites for the Security+ exam, but it is recommended that candidates have at least two years of experience in IT administration with a focus on security. This experience can be gained through various roles and responsibilities, such as working as a network administrator, security administrator, or systems administrator.


The CompTIA Security+ certification exam covers five domains. Previously, the 501 covered six domains. These domains are:

  1. Attacks, threats, and vulnerabilities (24%)
  2. Architecture and design (21%)
  3. Implementation (25%)
  4. Operations and incident response (16%)
  5. Governance, risk, and compliance (14%)

Each of these domains covers a specific set of knowledge and skills relevant to the field of cybersecurity. For example, in the domain of Threats, Attacks, and Vulnerabilities, candidates might be tested on their understanding of common types of vulnerabilities and the tools and techniques used to exploit them.

In the domain of Technologies and Tools, candidates might be tested on their knowledge of security technologies, such as firewalls, intrusion detection, and prevention systems, then asked to configure and manage these technologies.

If you’re interested in learning about the differences between exams, check out our recent article on the Security+ 501 exam versus the 601 exam.

Types of Questions

The CompTIA Security+ certification exam consists of multiple-choice and performance-based questions.

Multiple-choice questions are commonly used to test the candidate’s knowledge of key concepts. Performance-based questions require the candidate to solve a specific problem or perform a specific task in a simulated environment. These questions are designed to test the candidate’s practical skills and ability to apply their knowledge in real-world situations; for example, a question might ask the tester to set up a firewall or a wireless network.

Exam Details

You might be wondering how long the CompTIA Security+ exam is. It consists of ninety multiple-choice and performance-based questions and has a time limit of ninety minutes. To pass the Security+ 601 exam, you must score at least 750 out of 900 points. The exam is scored on a scale of 100 to 900, with 900 being the highest score possible.

The exam is offered in various languages and can be taken at testing centers worldwide. It is administered by Pearson VUE, a leading provider of computer-based testing services. To take the Security+ 601 exam, you must register with Pearson VUE and pay the exam fee. The cost of the exam varies depending on your location, but it typically costs $370.

In Conclusion

CompTIA Security+ is a widely recognized certification in the field of information technology and cybersecurity, and by obtaining it, individuals demonstrate their understanding of security concepts and their ability to implement and maintain secure systems. In many markets, the certification is required for numerous positions, so the value of passing the test can’t be overstated.

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>