The Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA) is an esteemed nonprofit that provides IT professionals with various certifications to help them advance their careers.


These credentials cover various aspects of IT, such as networking, security, and cloud computing. The key advantage of CompTIA A+ training is that it enables individuals to enhance their basic IT knowledge and skills, increasing their credibility and appeal in the job market. In addition, CompTIA certifications are recognized and respected because they are vendor-neutral. They do not favor one technology or product over another. 


How Did CompTIA Start? 


CompTIA was started in 1982 as the Association of Better Computer Dealers (ABCD) by a consortium of computer dealers, manufacturers, and distributors. The organization aimed to address the need for industry standards and ethical business practices in the growing computer industry. Its principal goal was facilitating networking and knowledge-sharing opportunities for computer technology professionals and developing a collaborative environment.


To reach its objectives more effectively, the organization relaunched itself as the Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA) in 1992. Professional certifications first appeared in 1993 with the CompTIA A+ certification, designed to validate computer specialists’ skills.


CompTIA expanded its certification offerings to include many IT disciplines, such as networking, security, cloud computing, and Linux administration. As a result, CompTIA is currently a prominent source of vendor-neutral IT certifications and is dedicated to assisting the IT industry through education, research, and advocacy.


What Are the Most Common CompTIA Certifications?


There are numerous CompTIA certifications. Below, we’ll detail the most popular ones and what knowledge and expertise are required for each.


CompTIA A+


The CompTIA A+ certification is an entry-level IT credential targeted at professionals seeking help desk, support, service center, or networking jobs. It teaches fundamental IT skills such as hardware and software troubleshooting, operating systems, networking, and security. 


Applicants must pass two tests, Core 1 (exam 220-1101) and Core 2 (exam 220-1102), covering a wide range of IT topics such as:


  • Virtualization
  • Cloud computing
  • Devices
  • Hardware
  • Networking
  • Operating systems
  • Software troubleshooting
  • Operational procedures
  • Security


The A+ certification is required for Dell, Intel, and HP service technicians and is recognized by the US Department of Defense.


CompTIA Network+


The CompTIA Network+ certification is intended for IT professionals with prior networking experience, and it covers topics such as network design, troubleshooting, and security. A candidate should possess knowledge of the following:


  • Networking technologies
  • Media
  • Topologies
  • Security and the installation 
  • Configuration
  • Troubleshooting of standard wired
  • Wireless network devices. 


The CompTIA Network+ certification is recommended or required by major companies like Dell, HP, and Intel and is accepted by the Apple Consultants Network. It adheres to ISO 17024, signifying that the certification body has a well-defined and structured process for assessing and certifying the competence of hired professionals.


CompTIA Security+: 


The CompTIA Security+ certification is intended for IT professionals who want to demonstrate their knowledge of IT security, including risk management, cryptography, and access control. The exam covers the following:


  • Network security concepts
  • Threats
  • Vulnerabilities
  • Access control
  • Identity management
  • Cryptography


While CompTIA does not specify criteria, candidates are recommended to have the Network+ certification and at least two years of IT administration experience with a security focus. SY0-601 is the exam code for the CompTIA Security+ certification test.


CompTIA Cloud+


The Cloud+ certification is developed for IT professionals with two to three years of experience in storage, networking, or data center administration. Candidates must pass a single exam, known as CV0-003, to get this certification. This test evaluates their understanding of cloud technologies, hybrid and multi-cloud solutions, cloud markets, and integrating cloud-based technological solutions into system operations.


CompTIA Linux+


The CompTIA Linux+ certification is aimed at IT professionals with prior experience in Linux administration and covers installation, package management, scripting, and security. Applicants must pass LX0-105. Although A+ and Network+ certifications are encouraged, they are not required. 


Visit the Linux+ web page for the most recent exam information, as new exams frequently follow beta testing.


How to Prepare for CompTIA Certification


CompTIA partners with Authorized Training Providers worldwide that deliver instructor-led courses in-person and online. They usually cost between $2,000 and $4,000.


ONLC provides in-depth training for A+ certification with hands-on exercises and labs to ensure you’re maximizing learning opportunities. As a result, we train you to pass the certification exam and feel prepared for real-world IT scenarios and challenges. 


Third-party self-study materials are also available, with CompTIA-approved content bearing the Approved Quality Content (CAQC) badge. The CompTIA Marketplace contains additional resources.


Next Steps


How long does it take to get CompTIA A+? It depends on the individual’s prior knowledge and hands-on experience, but it usually takes three to four months of study to attain certification successfully.


ONLC provides comprehensive learning solutions for CompTIA certification as an Authorized Partner. Contact us for a quote so you can give your résumé the boost and skills you need.

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>